Nov. 3, 2022


2 min read

Mokitimi retains post as President of Senate

Mokitimi retains post as President of Senate

President of the Senate, 'Mamonaheng Mokitimi

Story highlights

    Mokitimi outvoted Chief Peete and Molokoli
    House also swore-in 11 new Senators

Metro Audio Articles

Catch our weekly audio news daily only on Metro Radio Podcast News.

listen now

’MAMONAHENG Mokitimi has retained her position as the President of the Senate of Lesotho after outvoting two fellow Senators on Thursday morning.

She competed for the high post against Chief Peete Lesaoana Peete and Senator Hlomohang Molokoli collecting 19 votes against Peete’s 11 and Molokoli’s three votes.

The House also swore-in 11 new Senators including ’Maphakiso Lebona, ’Makholu Moshoeshoe, Neo Matjato Moteane, Richard Ramoeletsi, Limpho Tau, Seabata Motsamai, ’Mawinnie Kanetsi, ’Mabataung Patricia Mokhathali, Dr Thabiso Lebese, Leboea Khoaele and Sehloho Henry Monatsi.

In her inauguration speech, Mokitimi promised once again to deliver her mandate as expected by the House.

She emphasized the importance of completing the reforms process, the development which is not only important for Lesotho but the entire globe.

“I wish to appreciate the fact that members have reelected me as the President. This is a huge responsibility that cannot be taken for granted and therefore implies that I shall need all your support going forward,” she said.

Enjoy our daily newsletter from today

Access exclusive newsletters, along with previews of new media releases.

Among others, Mokitimi promised to work hard towards bringing about the much-needed unity in government for the betterment of Lesotho and its people.   

Mokitimi, who remains the first female President to serve as the President of the Senate. She was also the first female Vice President of the House in 2012, a position she occupied until 2015.

The Senate is made up of 33 members. Twenty of them are hereditary tribal chefs who perform executive functions for their respective communities while the other 11 are nominated by the King on the advice of the Prime Minister.





Share the story